Jump to content


Photo

AdAware


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 quahot

quahot

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 June 2004 - 02:05 PM

I am trying to rid my computer of spyware. I have way too many programs on startup. I am unable to download AdAware. It acts like it is downloading but nothing ever happens. I was able to download Hijack this but from reading this site, I know you want AdAware first. Any suggestions? Thanks. P.S. I am a beginner.

#2 wawadave

wawadave

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 04:19 PM

which site are you trying to d/l ad-ware from?
post the link if you can i will try it to see if its working.
did you go right to ads-wares home page or trying from else where?
it may be some spyware preventing you from d/ling it.
have you tried to d/l spybot? if so how did it go?
if your tottaly unable to d/l ether ad-ware and spybot you could explain all you have tried and post the hijack log in the proper forum.
but lets try this first to see if the problem can be solved. if not you can post the link to here with your hijack this log.
will check back latter to day!
<b>MYTH!!!!
Putting quotes around posts does not protect you from copy right infringement.</b>
<img src="http://img54.photobu...r_wawadave.gif" border="0" alt="IPB Image" />

#3 quahot

quahot

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 08:16 PM

I tried to download ad aware from download.com. When that didn't work, I went to the lava site. It sent me back to download.com. I tried to download spybot 1.3 but I kept getting the script error message. It did not matter if I hit yes or no, a new script error message would show up. Thanks for any help you can give.

#4 quahot

quahot

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 08:20 PM

This is the address of the adaware attempted download.

http://www.download....tml?tag=lst-0-2

#5 NortyFiner

NortyFiner

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 08:29 PM

That link works fine for me...it might be something on your computer trying to keep you from getting Ad-Aware. Spyware is tricky that way...

Try downloading Spybot S&D from here: http://forums.net-integration.net/

There's download links for Spybot S&D, and other useful programs along the top of the page. They should help clear things up if you can't get Ad-Aware working.
Admin of the Official San Francisco 49ers Forum
Visit us at http://49ers.hosttown.com

#6 wawadave

wawadave

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 126 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 11:17 PM

allso what o/s are you running?
<b>MYTH!!!!
Putting quotes around posts does not protect you from copy right infringement.</b>
<img src="http://img54.photobu...r_wawadave.gif" border="0" alt="IPB Image" />

#7 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 11:34 PM

And did you try the other Ad-Aware download mirror, http://majorgeeks.co...oad.php?det=506 ?

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#8 quahot

quahot

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 27 June 2004 - 01:25 PM

I have been able to download and run adaware from majorgeeks. :D I've also been able to download spybot from the site recommended by nortyfiner. Now I can run hijack this again and post in the appropriate spot. When all that is done, I can start to deal with the fact I've been hijacked! In reading other stuff on this forum, a new browser seems in order. Thanks, everyone! P.S. o/s is win 98




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Member of ASAP and UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button