• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 acomputerpro

acomputerpro

Computer Talk Show Host from KVTA.COM

• Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 26 June 2004 - 10:43 AM

Hello. I am A Computer Professional and host of A Computer Show on KVTA Radio in Ventura CA. I just spent the past 48 hours trying to remove CWS.SearchX aka Troj_StartPage.sp and BackDoor.Agent.BA

Here is my info:

6/24/04-6/26/04

Eradication of CoolWebSearch "CWS" variants infecting computer due to
the following conditions present at the time of infection:

“This is a growing family of Trojans that exploits the ByteCodeVerifier vulnerability in the Microsoft Virtual Machine to execute unauthorized code on an affected machine.

The variants of this Trojan that we have seen in the wild have been functionally diverse; the common factor amongst them has been the use of the ByteVerify exploit to achieve their goals. Some variants may do little more than change the user's default Internet Explorer home page and/or search page via modifications to the registry.”

JAVA VM was removed, SP1 was left intact and Sun Java was installed per the information below:

If you have Windows XP with Service Pack 1a, your system has no MS Java VM. Remove the MS Java VM completely and replace it with the newer, safer Sun Java VM.

As a side note, some of the affiliates (Search-Meta has been verified) use another Java exploit to install their MalWare. It's classified as the JS.Exception.Exploit, and a patch can be downloaded from this MS security bulletin.

Complications in removing CWS.SearchX described below by Kephyr.com:

Overview
Searchx BHO is implemented as a browser helper object and redirects your Internet Explorer browser to search.cc. If you make a search at searchx.cc, the results will be displayed at cx.linklist.cc. Searchx BHO uses random file names and class ids.

Files
[random].exe

Uninstall procedure
Unknown