Will these programs best protect my pc?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 piggylubber

piggylubber

• Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 24 June 2009 - 02:57 PM

I am currently in another post for a family members pc that had been infected. This pc is on my network and has gotten me to take off my rose colored glasses on a one stop program to handle it all (Verizon Security Suite).

So starting today, I want to go through my 4 pc network and install the best security for them. I am a novice and learning as I go. With the exception of the pc being worked on in another thread, the others all are using the Verizon Security Suite.

I have a laptop wirelessly connected running Vista (mine)
2 pc's running XP Pro one wireless and one wired (these are older hand-me down pcsz)
Host pc running just XP

From what I think I have learned, I need 4 different programs to cover Firewall, Anti-Virus, Spyware, and Malware. Yet none should conflict with each other.
So..

Firewall- Zone Alarm
Anti-Virus- Avira or Avast or AVG? Is there a difference? I did not really care for the feel of Avira, so leaning towards the AVG..have no experience with Avast
Spyware- Spybot S&D, or Spywareblaster, or SuperAnti Spyware (have used this one a little and feel comfortable with it)
Malware- Malware Antibytes Anti-Malware

Note: All of these would be the free versions off the net.

CCleaner Needed..not needed?
I have this installed on my laptop. When I had trouble running Verizons Games on Demand it was referred by their tech service.
1.) Is it safe to run the registy cleaner and trust the program to know what it is doing? (Gulp..because I have)
2.) Does this conflict with any of the above mentioned programs?
3.) Vista, XP, XP Pro...can they all run the same configuration of the above mentioned programs?

Thanks for any insight you can provide. This site has already provided to be an invaluable resource!!!
Dawn

#2 Budfred

Budfred

Malware Hound

• Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip