11 replies to this topic

#1 sherill

sherill

• Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 24 March 2011 - 03:46 PM

sorry - this is the wrong forum....

Attached Files

Edited by sherill, 24 March 2011 - 03:48 PM.

#2 sherill

sherill

• Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 24 March 2011 - 04:53 PM

HP Pavilion dv6883cl
Vista 64-bit
ESET Smart Security 4

Hello,

I'm a teacher and when the IT guy came by today, I remembered to mention to him that the touch feature on the SmartBoard in my classroom stopped working, even though all the drivers and program versions are current. He looked at it, did some diagnosing and identified that the problem is my laptop and not the SmartBoard. That's when it occurred to me that I might have a problem...

Thinking back, I had noticed maybe last week or so that my task manager started opening to just the applications running window with no tabs or buttons to even close it. I just thought it was odd, but not enough to stop and check on that. (although I had every intention of doing so) - perhaps this is a symptom? There are probably twice as many apps running now as there usually is. I try to stop them, they stop and then they pop back up. Right now, there are multiple instances of several apps running, like there are two explorer.exe's running. There are also 16 instances of svchost.exe.

When I open MyComputer, sometimes it takes well over a minute to load, sometimes it pops right open like it should.

I guess the only other thing is that quite a while ago - maybe 6 months or so, my computer would hang on the same file when doing the scandisk that is part of the Vista 64bit OS. My IT guy (same fellow) told me that my hard drive was failing. Sure enough, the day came when it wouldn't start. I did lots of research and ended up reseating (is that the word?) my hard drive. Worked like a charm! I still can't do the scandisk - still hangs on that same filename, but I do do the disk cleanup and defrag regularly.