Hijackthis - suggested improvements

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_WyoCowboy_*

Guest_WyoCowboy_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 July 2004 - 04:41 PM

I'm a 20 yr computer professional now doing computer repair, and have been removing scumware and viruses from at least 2-3 computers/week for the past year or so. Some of this stuff is loading files that are not detected/removed by Spybot, SpySweeper et al, and do not show up on any google searches, or in hijackthis logs posted in your forums, so I've been blazing some trails.

One small gripe is that I get a lot of google hits on the hijackthis logs posted in your forums. I then have to wade through the thread to see if it was really a piece of scumware or something innoculous. I don't know of a way that you could limit what shows up in google to just the scumware files, but if you could, it would eliminate some of the clutter. I usually don't use your forums as a source of info for this reason.

Anyways, I've been using hijack this lately and it is a real time-saver compared to manually wading through the registry, but I would like to suggest a couple possible improvements. Don't know how do-able they would be, but...

1. some viruses are starting to run as services on Win32 (xp/win2k), and I figure that it is only a matter of time before the scumware vendors exploit this angle. You might consider listing the non-MS services in hijack this. Even if there is no easy way to disable them using hijackthis, they could at least be listed and separately disabled in the services MMC if they looked suspicious.