Reinstall Operating System?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

#1 Harry Hirsute

Harry Hirsute

• Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 14 July 2004 - 07:41 PM

Hello. I hope someone out here might be able to guide me through this.

I had a cable technician come out to replace my cable modem but he couldn't successfully do so because when he attempted to get the computer to recognize the new modem, he encountered some trouble.

The problem appears to revolve around a corrupt/dysfunctional or missing file.

Here's how the message reads:

"Cannot find the file 'rundll32.exe' (or one of it's components). Make sure the path and filename are correct and that all required libraries are available."

The technician advised me to uninstall/reinstall the operating system (Windows 2000).

Before doing this, he recommended that I back up my system with a zip drive.

I'm a real novice when it comes to computers - I find them to be painfully overwhelming.

Bearing this in mind, I'd really appreciate any advice about the simplist way to back up my harddrive to a zip disk(?) and then uninstall/reinstall Windows 2000 without causing some sort of meltdown or other calamity.

Thanks for taking the time to read my message and for any replies.

#2 Master Green

Master Green

• Pip
  • 41 posts

Posted 15 July 2004 - 06:39 AM

Hi,
It's to my understanding that if Windows 2000 or Windows Xp has rundll32 showing up in your task list then you have a virus, I do beleive the name of the virus could be one of three named: W32.Miroot.Worm - W32/Legemer.Worm - W32.HLLW.Sanker

It's not uncommon for Rundll or Rundll32 to show up in Windows 98/Windows Me or even Windows NT I beleive. Even though if it did a virus should never be ruled out.

Make sure you update your virus protection first, then run it. The only thing I'm not sure on is if Windows 2000 has a system restore and if it does disable that first before running the scan.

Best of luck, keep us posted.