Jump to content


hey i landed on something really interesting

  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 pullinghairout



  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 July 2004 - 03:17 AM

I received one of those popup ads and have that coolwww page hijacked onto my homepage. well i clicked on the popup ad. then it takes me too another "cool" index for spyware and at the end of the page is this..support20602@sesupport.com
So i write it down go to my email and send this message

Dear sir or ma'am,
hey i just want to let you know that i want to remove your index off of
my homepage. It seems that you have HIJACKED my homepage. obviously
you are a .com site which tells me you are from the united states. i'm
checking into internet laws and speaking to legal counsel to see what
can exactly be done if that page is not removed from my computer. i
believe also that your popup ads and hijacking my homepage has become such
a nusiance that it has ruined my online games. Further research will
have to be done to determine that. If it is determined that your
homepage is the cause well then i suppose you'll have to fix that too. i
would greatly appreciate your compliance.


and i get this
Message from yahoo.com.
Unable to deliver message to the following address(es).

Connected to but greeting failed.
Remote host said: 421 localhost: Too many concurrent SMTP connections;
please try again later
I'm not going to try again; this message has been in the queue too

MAILER-DAEMON@ yahoo.com failure delivery

but then i noticed something from a file in hijackthis

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\WINDOWS\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup

notice anything. the name is a match "Daemon"

#2 pullinghairout



  • New Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 July 2004 - 06:13 AM

Nevermind i found out recently that daemon is a graphics card thing. so disregard. and by all means do not delete that file

#3 roadrage


    SWI Junkie

  • Helper Trainee
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 273 posts

Posted 28 August 2004 - 05:25 PM

Hello: pullinghairout
Be careful when you reply that just confirms to them that your E-mail is legitimite for future Spam or other Spammers, good thing that you couldn't E-mail them.
Check this site out.
Myself I have a few E-mails address's my personal ones are for friends and the others are for non personal use. Also when getting a new E-mail account use numbers in front of you name.
Do's and Dont's for spam

#4 Misereor



  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 84 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 06:25 AM

Windows has services, Unix has Daemons.
It is irrelevant to your problem.

#5 Queeg



  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts

Posted 30 August 2004 - 08:32 AM

having ".com" doesn't mean that the website is based in the US by the way...

Member of UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button