• Announcements

    • Budfred

      IE 11 copy/paste problem

      It has come to our attention that people using Internet Explorer 11 (IE 11) are having trouble with copy/paste to the forum. If you encounter this problem, using a different browser like Firefox or Chrome seems to get around the problem. We do not know what the problem is, but it seems to be specific to IE 11 and we are hopeful that Microsoft will eventually fix it.
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Ripe Network, Amsterdam

4 posts in this topic

Norton tells me it caught another trojan attempt originating from According to ARIN this is:


OrgName: RIPE Network Coordination Centre


Address: Singel 258

Address: 1016 AB

City: Amsterdam



Country: NL

ReferralServer: whois://whois.ripe.net:43

NetRange: -


NetName: RIPE-213

NetHandle: NET-213-0-0-0-1


Now it sometimes seems like half the intrusion attempts Norton notices originate with Ripe. So I'm gonna try something new for me, because this is ticking me off. I'm going to set up a firewall rule blocking all traffic from the entire Ripe netrange.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Ripe is not a ISP , so you dont need to block all their ranges , but its your choice.


The RIPE NCC is a Regional Internet Registry (RIR).


This means we allocate address space to ISPs and other organisations.

These organisations are responsible for the activities originating from the address space allocated to them.


Since the RIPE NCC is not the organisation using or responsible for activities originating from the address space,

any concerns or responses should be directed to them and not the RIPE NCC.



This is the ISP that the persons IP originates from. -

netname: FR-QUALIGAZ


descr: 8 Bd Bertier

descr: 75017 Paris

country: FR



this might give you some tips on tracking down other IPs you get:


Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0