Jump to content


Photo

SpywareBlaster problem


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 10:40 AM

Hi boys & girls,
each time I open SpywareBlaster, it shows 209 unprotected items for Mozilla Firefox.
I then Enable all Protection, it now shows Firefox as protected, yet if I close & reopen SpywareBlaster, I am back to square one...???
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#2 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 11:00 AM

As I understand it, Firefox doesn't support or use ActiveX controls - a principal reason it is so much safer than IE.

SpywareBlaster blocks bad ActiveX - and can have no effect at all on Firefox. It is excellent protection to add for IE, though.

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#3 JG427

JG427

    Forum Deity

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 11:25 AM

SpywareBlaster can be set to block cookies in firefox from a blocklist of sites such as lop.com.
This would help if you have cookies allowed in firefox. I have cookies disabled and exceptions allowed, such as this site.

You get the unprotected message because "prevent spyware/tracking cookies" is checked, but the blocklist items are all unchecked as disallowed.
In the protection tab, click moxilla/firefox in the upper right side. Right click any blocklist item and choose select all, click "protect against checked items"
Posted Image
-----------Posted Image

#4 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 02:11 PM

SpywareBlaster can be set to block cookies in firefox from a blocklist of sites such as lop.com.
This would help if you have cookies allowed in firefox. I have cookies disabled and exceptions allowed, such as this site.

You get the unprotected message because "prevent spyware/tracking cookies" is checked, but the blocklist items are all unchecked as disallowed.
In the protection tab, click moxilla/firefox in the upper right side. Right click any blocklist item and choose select all, click "protect against checked items"

Hi JG427,
in my cookies option, I have those 3 options checked:
cookies enabled, for originating site only, ask for each cookies.
I have but a few allowed in exceptions, like this site.

Before your post, I clicked all blocked itme one by one, by one, by one, by one (Thanks for the right-click trick, didnt knew that one). But still, I select all, click the Protect against selected item, it shows all protection enabled, I close SpywareBlaster, reopen it, & it still shows 209 unprotected item in Firefox....

This is really odd
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#5 JG427

JG427

    Forum Deity

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 03:13 PM

That is odd, mine doesn't do that.
Try reinstalling, see if that helps.
Posted Image
-----------Posted Image

#6 H@ns

H@ns

    Forum Deity

  • Retired Staff - Helper
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,630 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 04:09 PM

Try to re-install Spywareblaster. Does that works?

Edit: :huh: Not seen your last sentence :whistle:

Edited by H@ns, 22 July 2004 - 04:09 PM.

Nucia Security Forums - Dutch Anti-Malware Support

#7 Acsell

Acsell

    Advanced Member

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 22 July 2004 - 07:10 PM

Installing the latest version of firefox (0.9.2) should make it work.

Edited by Acsell, 22 July 2004 - 07:10 PM.

ASAP - Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals - Proud Member Since 2004
HJTHotkey - HijackThis Tutorial (Unofficial) - GetFiles
Autohotkey - Automation. Hotkeys and Scripting - Mozilla Firefox

#8 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 02:19 AM

I compared my home/work options, they are exactly the same! Same latest Firefox release, same cookies options, same SpywareBlaster settings. My home setup does not behave badly like work does.

When at work later on, I will reinstall SB & see if it fixes it...
Tks so far for your support!
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#9 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 06:42 AM

:techsupport:
I have removed SpywareBlaster, reinstalled it, but still the Firefox protection is not holding its setting past closing/reopening the program...
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#10 Paranoid

Paranoid

    Forum Deity

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 11:27 AM

cookies enabled, for originating site only, Accept for current session only are my settings.
Please note that the software I recommend above is entirely based on only my own experience and testing. In no way should my comments,opinions and endorsements be construed as an endorsement by the forum, nor do they reflect the advise or recommendations by the experts or helpers at spywareinfo.


#11 JG427

JG427

    Forum Deity

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 23 July 2004 - 05:02 PM

I checked the firefox profile folder and found the file that SB writes the blocklist to.
In xp it's located at C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\profilename\hostperm.1

After you click "protect against", open hostperm.1 with notepad and see if the list is written there as "host cookie 2 100hot.com" etc...

Firefox reads that list and shows it in firefox > options > privacy > execeptions ,site list, listed with a block status.
Sounds like the list is not written to hostperm.1
Posted Image
-----------Posted Image

#12 Paranoid

Paranoid

    Forum Deity

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 11:26 AM

Hi boys & girls,
each time I open SpywareBlaster, it shows 209 unprotected items for Mozilla Firefox.
I then Enable all Protection, it now shows Firefox as protected, yet if I close & reopen SpywareBlaster, I am back to square one...???

What version of firefox.

Check, where your profiles are. You didn't happen to be using a 0.8+ nighty before upgrading to 0.9 did you?
Please note that the software I recommend above is entirely based on only my own experience and testing. In no way should my comments,opinions and endorsements be construed as an endorsement by the forum, nor do they reflect the advise or recommendations by the experts or helpers at spywareinfo.


#13 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 07:59 PM

Hi boys & girls,
each time I open SpywareBlaster, it shows 209 unprotected items for Mozilla Firefox.
I then Enable all Protection, it now shows Firefox as protected, yet if I close & reopen SpywareBlaster, I am back to square one...???

What version of firefox.

Check, where your profiles are. You didn't happen to be using a 0.8+ nighty before upgrading to 0.9 did you?

I have 0.9.2, & that might just be the problem***, as it is newer than the latest SpywareBlaster....I am guessing the next SpywareBlaster update will fix things up.

***Officially, Firefox offers only 0.9.1 on their own site, I got 0.9.2 as the fix to vulnerability recently discovered.
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#14 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 08:36 PM

I didn't even know SpywareBlaster protected Firefox. I have 9.2 also. Why does Firefox need protection?

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#15 Acsell

Acsell

    Advanced Member

  • Developer
  • PipPipPip
  • 160 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 08:43 PM

I didn't even know SpywareBlaster protected Firefox. I have 9.2 also. Why does Firefox need protection?


It blocks tracking cookies

SpywareBlaster's Mozilla/Firefox protection provides one main option:

Prevent spyware/tracking cookies-
Blocks cookies that may be used to track your activities, build a profile about your habits, collect information, or uniquely identify you to advertisers.

Mozilla/Firefox Protection should work with Mozilla 1.7 and higher, and Firefox 0.9 and higher.


Edited by Acsell, 24 July 2004 - 08:50 PM.

ASAP - Alliance of Security Analysis Professionals - Proud Member Since 2004
HJTHotkey - HijackThis Tutorial (Unofficial) - GetFiles
Autohotkey - Automation. Hotkeys and Scripting - Mozilla Firefox

#16 Paranoid

Paranoid

    Forum Deity

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 533 posts

Posted 24 July 2004 - 09:20 PM

[quote name='Doctor J' date='Jul 24 2004, 07:59 PM'] [quote name='Paranoid' date='Jul 24 2004, 12:26 PM'] [quote name='Doctor J' date='Jul 22 2004, 10:40 AM']
What version of firefox.

Check, where your profiles are. You didn't happen to be using a 0.8+ nighty before upgrading to 0.9 did you? [/QUOTE]

I have 0.9.2, & that might just be the problem***, as it is newer than the latest SpywareBlaster....I am guessing the next SpywareBlaster update will fix things up.

***Officially, Firefox offers only 0.9.1 on their own site, I got 0.9.2 as the fix to vulnerability recently discovered. [/QUOTE]
No it works fine on 0.9.2.

It all has to do with where your profiles are located. In 0.9.1 and 0.9.2 they are located at the same place, so spywareblaster has no problems with both.

Up to 0.8 it was in Application Data\phoenix

Somewhere between 0.8 to 0.9 it switched to Application Data\Firefox

In 0.9 it switched again to Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles

When you migrated from 0.8 to 0.9 directly, your profile would automatically be copied to Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles UNLESS you were using a nigthy. In which case it would remain at Application Data\Firefox but the profiles.ini file would point back at the old location.

That could foul up spywareblaster. Could you check exactly where your profile is?

Of course, I don't know how spywareblaster guesses where the profile is, unless it is via the install.log. You mention that you have 2 indentical builds, were they installed both using the installers or the zipped version?

Edited by Paranoid, 24 July 2004 - 09:22 PM.

Please note that the software I recommend above is entirely based on only my own experience and testing. In no way should my comments,opinions and endorsements be construed as an endorsement by the forum, nor do they reflect the advise or recommendations by the experts or helpers at spywareinfo.


#17 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 25 July 2004 - 05:22 AM

Hi,
sorry for missing this question a couple of times; No, no nightly builds for me.

The problem computer is at work, but here at home, my Profile is at both places (!), user name/application data/Mozilla/Firefox/profile and user name/application data/Phoenix/Profile.
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.

#18 JG427

JG427

    Forum Deity

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,020 posts

Posted 25 July 2004 - 06:42 AM

my Profile is at both places (!), user name/application data/Mozilla/Firefox/profile and user name/application data/Phoenix/Profile.

The 0.9+ installer copies your profile from the old location to the new location. The Phoenix location is no longer needed and can be deleted but the installer does not delete it.

The list for blocked or allowed cookies are stored in the profilename\hostperm.1 folder.
Posted Image
-----------Posted Image

#19 Doctor J

Doctor J

    Resident Troubadour

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 128 posts

Posted 25 July 2004 - 08:01 AM

I checked the firefox profile folder and found the file that SB writes the blocklist to.
In xp it's located at C:\Documents and Settings\username\Application Data\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\profilename\hostperm.1

After you click "protect against", open hostperm.1 with notepad and see if the list is written there as "host cookie 2 100hot.com" etc...

Firefox reads that list and shows it in firefox > options > privacy > execeptions ,site list, listed with a block status.
Sounds like the list is not written to hostperm.1

Again, as with the profile, I have 2 hostperm.1 files, one in username/..., the other in all users/...
The one in username is 18 kb, & list all kinds of cookies, the one in allusers is basically blank.
Failure is not an option, it comes bundled with the software.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Member of ASAP and UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button