Jump to content


Photo

Cant get out of dos mode


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 09:12 AM

I had to use dos mode to delete a file. This was the second time ive ever used dos mode. So i tried typing in exit to return to regular windows. That didnt work. I tried alt-ctrl-dlt, which restarted the computer back to the menu, so i thought problems solved but when i selected normal mode it sent me to dos mode again. Then i tried pressing the power button and turning it on again but same thing, it always sends me to dos mode. I am using windows 98, can anyone help?

#2 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 11:13 AM

You have two other open threads. Are these all for different computers, or should some be merged?

http://www.spywarein...wtopic=2187&hl=
http://www.spywarein...wtopic=4892&hl=

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#3 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 05:02 PM

we have 1 desktop and 2 laptops that are used all the time in this house and felt weird with posting with the same name and having 3 differnet problems.

Back to the Dos mode problem, when i type in win i get the message "This Version of Windows Runs Only on MS-DOS 8.00 ".

#4 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 05:28 PM

If you have your Win 98 installation disk, consider a repair or reinstall.

I was going to suggest that if you have a Win 98 recovery floppy, boot from it and enter the command sys C:

However that might mess up your Win98 - I really don't know.

See if you can get us a HijackThis log. It's a small program easily transported on a floppy.

Download 'Hijack This!'. http://www.spywarein.../HijackThis.exe
Save it in a convenient permanent folder such as C:\HJT\, double click HijackThis.exe, and hit "Scan".

When the scan is finished, the "Scan" button will change into a "Save Log" button.
Press that, save the log, Ctrl-A to Select All, and copy its contents here. Most of what it lists will be harmless or even essential, don't fix anything yet.

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#5 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 05:36 PM

Zero suggests just enter exit /b at your DOS command prompt.
Worth a try, let us know if it works.

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#6 smckillop

smckillop

    Rockin' Apple of SWI

  • Retired Staff - Helper
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 12 June 2004 - 05:52 PM

You may also want to try the following (This assumes that you have the Windows 98 Installation files on your hard drive in the C:\Windows\Options\CABS\ folder)
  • Start the computer and when the C:\ prompt appears, type
  • extract /a c:\windows\options\cabs\base4.cab win.cnf
  • After the file is extracted, type
  • copy c:\windows\win.com c:\windows\win.bak
  • move /y win.cnf c:\windows\win.com
  • Then type "win" to start Windows
Hope this helps!
smckillop
He who has tasted a sour apple, will have the more relish for a sweet one.

If the information I have provided has been helpful, please consider Supporting SpywareInfo

#7 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 08:53 AM

I cant show you guys a hijackthis log cause i cant get to the normal windows mode. I tried the exit \b and smckillop's method and i couldnt extract the file. What i mentioned in the other thread that i didnt mention in this one was that i am really using windows me but had to do something that one of the helpers here showed me to start up dos mode by being in windows 98 to get rid of the about:blank thing. So my true OS is windows me.

#8 smckillop

smckillop

    Rockin' Apple of SWI

  • Retired Staff - Helper
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 09:12 AM

I didn't realize that you were running Windows ME. Please see the following article on the Microsoft Knowledge Base which may help your issue:

http://support.micro...kb;en-us;274297

Summary of Article:

  • Place the Windows Me Startup disk in drive A, and then press CTRL+ALT+DELETE to restart your computer.
  • On the Startup menu, click Minimal Boot.
  • At the command prompt, type sys c:, and then press ENTER. If the files you need are on the hard disk, you receive a "System Transferred" message.


If you don't have a Windows ME Boot Disk, please download from the following site:
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

You will need the Windows Me OEM disk.

Hope this helps! Let us know.
smckillop
He who has tasted a sour apple, will have the more relish for a sweet one.

If the information I have provided has been helpful, please consider Supporting SpywareInfo

#9 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 12:16 PM

i tried what it said on that article prior to posting here.
These steps it says to do:

Place the Windows Me Startup disk in drive A, and then press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart your computer.
On the Startup menu, click Start Computer with CD-ROM Support.
At the command prompt, type smartdrv, and then press ENTER.
Type extract /l c:\temp drive\win9x\precopy1.cab winboot.sys, and then press ENTER.

where drive is the CD-ROM drive letter.

NOTE: This file can also be extracted from the windir\options\install directory.
After this file has been extracted successfully, type c:, and then press ENTER.
Type attrib io.sys -s -h -r, and then press ENTER.
Type ren io.sys *.bak, and then press ENTER.
Type cd temp, and then press ENTER.
Type copy winboot.sys c:\io.sys , and then press ENTER.
Remove the Windows Me Startup disk, and then press CTRL+ALT+DEL to restart your computer.


Focus on the CD-Rom drive and the problems on a laptop with a removal drive when im tryin to extract the files it doesnt work. I'll try it again though

#10 smckillop

smckillop

    Rockin' Apple of SWI

  • Retired Staff - Helper
  • PipPipPip
  • 143 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 12:47 PM

Try this:

Posted Image Download the following file:
http://www.24by7.ca/files/bootme.exe

Posted Image Run the Bootme.exe file and place a floppy disk in your floppy drive to create a bootable disk

Posted Image Reboot your PC with the floppy in the Drive and select to boot Without CDROM support.

Posted Image You should be left at an A:\ prompt... Type the following

Sys C:

You should get a message similar to the following:

System Transferred


Let us know any exact error messages that you receive and what step you received them.

Thanks
smckillop
He who has tasted a sour apple, will have the more relish for a sweet one.

If the information I have provided has been helpful, please consider Supporting SpywareInfo

#11 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 02:48 PM

I got to the A:/ promt and typed in sys C: and got the following error:

Cannot find the system file in the standard locations on drive C:. SYS can only be used on drive C: to attempt a repair of an already existing installation of Windows. Use Windows SETUP to make drie C: bootable.

#12 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 14 June 2004 - 07:21 PM

Use Windows SETUP to make drie C: bootable.

Are you able to do that? You would need a Win 98 startup disk.

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE


#13 Mangoonz

Mangoonz

    Member

  • Full Member
  • Pip
  • 37 posts

Posted 15 June 2004 - 11:45 AM

If i have a computer running windows 98, could i obtain one using that computer?

#14 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 15 June 2004 - 12:01 PM

Yes. Sorry, gotta run - but see if it's in Accessories->System Tools

Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Member of ASAP and UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button