• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Harriet

Harriet

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 12:02 AM

Hi All,

I am a Windows newbie. Very new - crossed from Mac to PC just three days ago, I am already getting pop-upmessages about spyware.

Anyway,

I am a long-time user of MSN Messenger and AOL IM. From a spyware point-of-view, should I now refrain from using these programs on Windows?

Looking forward to your responses.

Thanks,

Harriet

#2 Untouchable J

Untouchable J

Advanced Member

• PipPipPip
  • 205 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 03:12 AM

Welcome to windows...... I dont know about MSN Messenger but AIM does install's Windtangent and Weather Bug which are considered adware. I think the new version of AIM gives u an option to not install the adware that is bundled with the program. As with all instant messaging programs you should be aware of what you download through it. If you dont already know they have 2 great free tools for spyware and adware proctection which are Spybot 1.3 and Ad-Aware. You should also have you basic computer security (a good AV and firewall).

I hope this helps :thumbsup:

Spybot 1.3

Ad-Aware

Edited by Jrshaw62, 13 June 2004 - 03:13 AM.

#3 Tuxedo Jack

Tuxedo Jack

Creator of TuxPE, a Cat5-o'-9-Tails, Etherkillers, and more

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,757 posts

Posted 13 June 2004 - 12:49 PM

I would recommend Trillian for your IM needs.

http://www.ceruleanstudios.com

If you're behind a router with NAT, you'll need something else for file transfers.

You may wish to look at Mozilla Firefox instead of IE. It has no security holes, doesn't integrate into the Windows shell (which is a bad thing due to the shell's control over the system), doesn't download anything without your approval, and doesn't get hijacked.