New .DLL to look out for?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 LeMango

LeMango

• Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 January 2008 - 03:23 PM

I'm not looking for help to remove this, since I don't think anyone on Earth has ever experienced this file. I'm an amateur good hacker, and cleaned up my SILs machine and got everything off but this one file. Just wanted to send a flare out to the studs (and studettes) that patrol this forum that this file seems to be an unremovable trace file.

I'm just gonna reformat her PC anyway, so I don't have to deal with any residue left from the 145 million things I removed (using AVG, SDFIX, COMBOFIX, HAKFIX, HIJACKTHIS, FIXWAREOUT, ADWARE, KILLBOX etc. etc. etc.), but I was trying to clean the PC completely as a matter of principle since I have a lot of FREE time and cleaning PCs is sort of a hobby. COMBOFIX, HAKFIX come up clean and HIJACKTHIS flags the WGA Notify pointing to the file.

FBFBA.DLL.

It's out there. Funny thing is that on first scan, AVG recognized it, but did not offer to fix anything. KILLBOX killed it without any errors, but of course it reappeared.

FBFBA.DLL.

I assumed if it was one of those where when it's recreated it takes some sort of new file random file name incarnation, I'd have seen some variance, but for now it's impossible to remove the WGA Notify line manually or via HIJACKTHIS, and like I said, KILLBOX can't seem to remove the file (and it doesn't error out, like it did trying to remove other files)

FBFBA.DLL.

Enjoy this mystery everyone! (FWIW, the time of infection and recurring PC use aloof to said infection was October 2007-December 2007)
FBFBA.DLL.

(I apologize if this post seems like a call for help - - I am reformatting the PC, so it's too late for help, but I hate having an unsolved file issue....call me Columbo)

One more thing (tribute to Columbo), the sequence FBFBA.DLL is a common iteration of all the HEX combinations, so maybe that's where the name derived from...