• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 wovaki

wovaki

• Pip
  • 34 posts

Posted 24 June 2009 - 08:40 PM

Hello SWI Forums!

I have been hearing a lot about how wireless networks are really unsafe.
I'm new to wireless and everything, I have been stuck with dialup until recently, but now wireless seems to be everywhere...is it really unsafe to connect my computer to wireless hotspots?

I have ZoneAlarm free firewall, shouldn't that protect me?

I really appreciate any replies!

Wovaki

#2 TheJoker

TheJoker

Forum Deity

• Boot Camp Mod
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,450 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 08:27 AM

ZoneAlarm should work fine for you. Two other excellent free firewalls are Outpost Firewall Free or Online Armor Free. Either one would be a good choice. There is a tutorial on understanding firewalls at http://www.bleepingc...tutorial60.html and a tutorial for Outpost Free at http://www.outpostfi...9658#post179658

When you install ZoneAlarm, I recommend that you UNcheck the optional install for Spy Blocker as it's from the questionable search engine Ask.com. You can read more about Ask.com here.

Free Tools for Fighting Malware
Anti-Virus: avast! Free Antivirus / Avira Free AntiVirus
OnLine Anti-Virus: ESET / BitDefender / F-Secure
Anti-Malware: Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware / Dr.Web CureIt
Spyware/Adware Tools: MVPS HOSTS File / SpywareBlaster
Firewall: Comodo Firewall Free / Privatefirewall
Tutorials: How did I get Infected? / Internet Explorer Privacy & Security Settings
If we have helped, please help us continue the fight by using the Donate button, or see this topic for other ways to donate.

MS MVP 2009-20010 and ASAP Member since 2005

#3 TheJoker

TheJoker

Forum Deity

• Boot Camp Mod
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,450 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 09:56 AM