Jump to content


Photo

Updating FireFox.


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 11:15 PM

I just update FireFox today and now it stalls out on me after a few clicks...  I haven't found any help for it anywhere yet and I am wondering if anyone else is experiencing similar issues...  I may not even be able to post this message - hopefully it will work long enough to do so...  I can use IE and I installed Chrome which is working, but I don't have as much security installed on either one and Chrome is an unfamiliar interface that seems to be limited on security options...  If anyone knows a fix for these issues, please let me know...  I don't want to have to remove and install an older version if I can avoid it...  I have already reinstalled this version, but it didn't fix the problem...

If you haven't already updated, you may want to hold off on that...  I am on Win7 and I don't know if it is a problem only with that or with all OSes.


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#2 Rocket Grannie

Rocket Grannie

    SWI Australian Rebel

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 11:19 PM

I updated to version 24 on Win 7 with no problems.

It sounds like a conflict with an add on.


a111.gif


 
My help is free, but if you wish to help keep these forums running please consider a donation, see here for details.

#3 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 29 October 2013 - 11:33 PM

I forgot to say - update to 25.0... 

I checked add-ons to make sure they are all updated...  If need be, I will turn each one off and see what happens, but I want to see if anyone else has encountered these issues first... 

 

Thanks for responding...


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#4 Rocket Grannie

Rocket Grannie

    SWI Australian Rebel

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 12:06 AM

I forgot to say - update to 25.0...

 

Okay, I'll update it and let you know what happens.


a111.gif


 
My help is free, but if you wish to help keep these forums running please consider a donation, see here for details.

#5 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 12:09 AM

You may regret that - as I did...


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#6 Rocket Grannie

Rocket Grannie

    SWI Australian Rebel

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 12:24 AM

Updated to 25.

 

So far so good behaving normally, will let you know if anything changes.


a111.gif


 
My help is free, but if you wish to help keep these forums running please consider a donation, see here for details.

#7 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 12:58 AM

It works okay for me for the first few clicks, then stalls after a while...  It will eventually move, but gets to the point where it won't hardly move at all...  Are you opening more than one tab?


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#8 AplusWebMaster

AplusWebMaster

    AplusWebMaster

  • SWI Friend
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,104 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 04:42 AM

I did 2x Win7 and 1x XP machine to v25.0 yesterday without trouble, but you may want to ask about your problem here. They are usually pretty good about helping out:

 

Firefox Support

- http://forums.mozill...wforum.php?f=38

.


.The machine has no brain.
 ......... Use your own.
Browser check for updates here.
YOU need to defend against -all- vulnerabilities.
Hacks only need to find -1- to get in...
.

#9 Rocket Grannie

Rocket Grannie

    SWI Australian Rebel

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:00 AM

Have been opening multiple tabs multiple pages---no problems.

 

Wow this is quick. Page is open and I'm still clicking.


a111.gif


 
My help is free, but if you wish to help keep these forums running please consider a donation, see here for details.

#10 AplusWebMaster

AplusWebMaster

    AplusWebMaster

  • SWI Friend
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 11,104 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 08:37 AM

"... works okay for me for the first few clicks, then stalls after a while.."

'Had a thought about that - you may want to check your firewall setting for the "plugin-container.exe"  setting... it's updated with every Firefox release.
 


.The machine has no brain.
 ......... Use your own.
Browser check for updates here.
YOU need to defend against -all- vulnerabilities.
Hacks only need to find -1- to get in...
.

#11 cnm

cnm

    Mother Lion of SWI

  • Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 25,317 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 09:54 AM

Seems to work fine for me for browsing.  I do notice that the post editor works strangely - perhaps an incompatibility there.   The WYSIWYG mode doesn't terminate new URLs properly.  Only seen in Firefox, not in Chrome.


Microsoft MVP Windows Security 2005-2006
How camest thou in this pickle? -- William Shakespeare:(1564-1616)
The various helper groups here
UNITE

#12 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 01:16 PM

I just disabled a bunch of add-ons, so I will see what happens from that...  I don't like to go without them, but if it works to disable them, I can add them back and see if I can determine which might be causing the problem...  Of course, it may turn out that I bog down again anyway and that may not be the issue at all...  I will let you all know - thanks for the ideas...

 

I tried the Firefox support forum yesterday and saw that many people were having similar problems with the previous update and some did not get an answer then...  I will check it out again...


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#13 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 01:21 PM

Well I opened a bunch of tabs and checked out the FF support forum without any difficulty, so it looks like Rocket Grannie nailed it with the suggestion that it was an add-on...  I will now go through and enable each in turn to see what might have been the problem...  I will post back when I get it sorted...


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#14 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 01:57 PM

Okay, I seem to be back to normal...  I ended up removing a few add-ons for cookie management that hadn't been updated in a long time and added a new one...  So far I haven't had any more stalls...  Thanks for all of the help!!


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#15 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 05:03 PM

Turns out my conclusion was premature...  I had enabled most of my remaining add-ons and started having problems again...  I started doing the elimination again and I think I have it now, but still not sure...  It seems like it might actually be an add-on that I never use which is supposed to help find MP3s...  If that turns out to be the case, I will just remove it...


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"

#16 Rocket Grannie

Rocket Grannie

    SWI Australian Rebel

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,932 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 05:50 PM

Turns out my conclusion was premature...  I had enabled most of my remaining add-ons and started having problems again...  I started doing the elimination again and I think I have it now, but still not sure...  It seems like it might actually be an add-on that I never use which is supposed to help find MP3s...  If that turns out to be the case, I will just remove it...

Good fun isn't it?  :rofl: :rofl:


a111.gif


 
My help is free, but if you wish to help keep these forums running please consider a donation, see here for details.

#17 Budfred

Budfred

    Malware Hound

  • Administrators
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,520 posts

Posted 01 November 2013 - 10:52 PM

It may not have just been the MP3 add-on, but that was definitely part of it...  Whatever else it might have been, it is working now that I removed a few obsolete programs and that MP3 add-on...  If anyone else has a problem and you have an add-on for finding MP3s, I suggest you remove it or at least disable it... 


Budfred

Helpful link: SpywareBlaster...

MS MVP 2006 and ASAP Member since 2004

Please read the Instructions for posting requested logs and the article "So how did I get infected in the first place?"




Member of UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button