Jump to content


Photo

ACER Aspire 5734Z

Will not load

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 04:28 AM

HI and A Happy and Healthy 2018,

On Saturday my wife's Acer 5734Z started to have problems, running slowly, so she re booted and got a "diagnosing your PC" which went on for ever.

I tried unsuccessfully to get it to boot and have tried the Acer e management recovery a coupe of times and it gets stuck on "Updating system 99%"

I tried the last time last night and the first section "Restoring system" took 29 minutes to get to 100%,

However the second section "Updating system" is still running after nearly18 hours and is stuck on 99%. It arrived at 99% after 1 hour and 11 minutes.

Can anyone please advise.

Regards,

winston

ps It was a windows 7 with an upgrade to windows 10.


Edited by winston66, 02 January 2018 - 04:29 AM.


#2 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 10:25 AM

Hello, Welcome to SpywareInfoForum.
I'm nasdaq and will be helping you.
 
If you can please print this topic it will make it easier for you to follow the instructions and complete all of the necessary steps in the order listed.
===
 
Using the Safe Mode with Networking execute this.
 
Download the version of this tool for your operating system.
and save it to a folder on your computer's Desktop.
Double-click to run it. When the tool opens click Yes to disclaimer.
Press Scan button.
It will make a log (FRST.txt) in the same directory the tool is run. Please copy and paste it to your reply.
The first time the tool is run, it makes also another log (Addition.txt). Please attach it to your reply.
 
How to attach a file to your reply:
In the Reply section in the bottom of the topic Click the "more reply Options" button.
attachlogs.png
 
Attach the file.
Select the "Choose a File" navigate to the location of the File.
Click the file you wish to Attach.
Click Attach this file.
Click the Add reply button.
===
 
Please post the logs  for my review.
 
----
 
Wait for further instructions.
 
p.s.
How to boot in safe mode Windows 10.

nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760

#3 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 11:07 AM

Hi nasdaq and thanks for helping.

I've tried option 6 and can only get the "windows error screen" to load which has safe mode options on it.

I've gone to "safe mode with networking" and pressed enter and it loads windows files but only gets as far as \windows\system32\drivers\mfewfbk.sys and then stops with a please wait message at the bottom.

It has now progressed and there is a window "Install Windows"

Within the window it has a small red circle with a white cross and says "Windows cannot complete installation in safe mode . To continue installing Windows re start the computer " There is an OK box to click on.

Beneath the window it says "Set up is starting service"

Regards,

Winston

 

I clicked ok and it restarted with the message "set up will continue after windows has started.

There is then a screen with just "Installing Windows" on it, no other movement and microsoft corp at the bottom.

After a few minutes the coloured Microsoft logo also appeared and now it has switched to "Setup is starting services"

I will let it cook and report on any progress. 

 

Still stuck in that situation the blue drive light is flickering about once a second.

Before I contacted you I tried to find a solution on the internet and tried downloading Windows 10 to a USB on this computer but on two occasions it crashed loading Windows media at 50%. The first longer section had loaded both times ok.


Edited by winston66, 02 January 2018 - 11:24 AM.


#4 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 01:11 PM

Hi nasdaq,

I'd thought i'd try loading Windows 10 onto the USB again, using your instructions but the same thing happened. it got to 50% in loading windows 10 media and the message appeared:

Problem occurred loading Windows 10, contact support quoting error codes Ox80042405 - OxA001A

 

The other faulty computer is still stuck at the same point.

 

regards,

 

 

winston



#5 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 01:17 PM

Hi,
 
The mfewfbk.sys if part of the McAfee's virus protection.
I do not think you can disable this driver from the Safe Mode.
 
For our next step you will need.
 
A USB Flash Drive
Another clean computer.(You cannot work from the infected computer directly).
Stop here if you do not have a Clean Computer at your disposition.
 
Let me know what you have.
 
Preparing the USB Flash Drive
 
Using the Clean computer download the right version of Farbar program for your system to Desktop.
 
64-bit or 32 bit version. Select the one you need.
 
Move the executable (FRST.exe or FRST64.exe) to your USB Flash Drive
 

 

How to determine whether a computer is running a 32-bit version or 64-bit version of the Windows operating system.
 
If you System is a Windows 10, it's the same instructions as Windows 7.

 

 
===
 
WINDOWS 10 USERS.
 
To enter the Recovery Environment with Windows 10, follow the instructions in this tutorial on TenForums https://www.tenforum...ndows-10-a.html
 
Once in the command prompt
 
Plug your USB Flash Drive in the infected computer
 
In the command prompt, type notepad and press on Enter
Notepad will open. Click on the File menu and select Open
Click on Computer/This PC, find the letter for your USB Flash Drive, then close the window and Notepad
 
In the command prompt, type e:\frst.exe (for the x64 version, type e:\frst64.exe and press on Enter
Note: Replace the letter e with the drive letter of your USB Flash Drive
FRST will open
Click on Yes to accept the disclaimer
Click on the Scan button and wait for the scan to complete
A log called fixlog.txt will be saved on your USB Flash Drive. Attach it in your next reply.
 
p.s.
If at any time you need additional information please ask before proceeding.
 
Also,
 
Note:If you can't access the Recovery Environment using the F8 method above, you'll need to create a Windows installation or repair media.
Let me know and I will give you additional information.

nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760

#6 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 01:45 PM

I'll clean the aborted Windows 10 from the USB as mentioned in my 2.11pm post and will then follow your instructions on the computer i am currently using.

regards,

 

winston



#7 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 02:13 PM

hi nasdaq,

I've loaded FRST 64 exe onto the USB and checked it's on there 2337 Kb.

I've enabled F12 on the faulty computer and got into the boot page scrolling down to the Skandisk USB but when I press enter it returns to the "windows error screen" with the options to put it into safe mode, safe mode with networking etc.

So we are now into the same loop as I described earlier:

"It has now progressed and there is a window "Install Windows"

Within the window it has a small red circle with a white cross and says "Windows cannot complete installation in safe mode . To continue installing Windows re start the computer " There is an OK box to click on.

Beneath the window it says "Set up is starting service"

regards,

winston



#8 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 02:23 PM

Hi nasdaq,

The boot manager  shows Boot option menu:

1 IDE 0 WDC WD500000BEVT 22 AORTO

2 IDE 1 HL-DT-STDVDRAM  GT30N

3 NetworkBoot Atheros boot agent

4 USB HDD SanDisk

 

I've tried it again and it keeps going into the same loop as I described in my earlier post:

"I clicked ok and it restarted with the message "set up will continue after windows has started.

There is then a screen with just "Installing Windows" on it, no other movement and microsoft corp at the bottom.

After a few minutes the coloured Microsoft logo also appeared and now it has switched to "Setup is starting services"

regards 

winston



#9 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 02:52 PM

nasdaq,

I can't get the command prompt, however I've experimented by pressing enter and when the screen goes black I  tap a key continuously and the following has appeared:

 

WINDOWS BOOT MANAGER

Choose an operating system to start or press tab to select a tool.

Use the arrow keys to highlight your choice and press enter.

Windows 7 ( which is in a long rectangular window.)

To specify an advanced option for the choice press F8

Tools  Windows memory diagnostic.

 

regards.

winston



#10 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 02 January 2018 - 03:36 PM

Hi nasdaq,

I managed to get to the "Windows Memory Diagnostic tool" ran it and there were no problems.

 

I've also got to:

Advanced Boot options fro Windows 7

Safe Mode

      -             with networking

      -              with command prompt

Enable boot recovery

Enable low res video

Last known good config (advanced)

Directory services restore mode

Debugging mode

Disable automatic restart on system failure

Disable driver signature enforcement

Start windows normally

 

I don't know if this helps ?

 

regards,

winston



#11 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 05:37 AM

hi nasdaq

 

I've tried to get this Windows 10 to load onto a usb but it still does the same. The first part loads 100% and then when it goes into Creating Windows 10 Media it stops at 50% and the error message appears.

I don't know what's happened now because as you can see the computer is now typing in bold ????

I've sourced this forum but I don't see what the guy that has posted the fix is doing which is different to me ?

https://answers.micr...3d-e4b204644e9a

I've even bought a new 32GB USB but no difference.

regards,

winston


Edited by winston66, 03 January 2018 - 06:57 AM.


#12 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 07:11 AM

 
Hi,
 
You best solution is to get the Acer recovery media for your computer.
 
 
See if you can get the  Acer eRecovery Media?
 
 
This may help you find the SNID for your computer.
 
Im not sure but if you can run the CD or flash drive provided by Acer your system should return to the Windows 7 operating system.
 
Good luck.
 
 
 

nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760

#13 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 07:42 AM

hi nasdaq

I  downloaded the Windows ios version of the Windows 10 to desktop and then downloaded that to the USB and it appears to have worked.

It's showing as name: Windows iso    type: NTI iso file     3,720,192 Kb

However when I put it in the faulty computer and boot up using the F12 key to  get into Boot menu and then highlight the USB and press enter it just goes into the same loop as before.

Windows error screen with various options and if I press safe mode with networking , I get the same file lists and it loops in the same way as before.

The Windows on the USB doesn't appear to be functioning.

regards

winston



#14 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 08:26 AM

Hi nasdaq

I've found the SNID but will have to enter it into Acer UK as it doesn't register with you in the US.

While I've been playing around I put some kind of disk check into operation. by accident, I haven't a clue what keys I pressed. This is what it said checking 3 disks:

Stage 1/

File record segment 406180 unreadeable

                                 406181

                                 406182

                                 406183

                                 412648

                                 412649

                                 412650

                                 412651

512512 file records processed.

 

Deleting orphan file record segment 5690

                                                          5730

 

19419 large file records processed

8 bad file records processed

89560 EA records processed

92 reparse records processed

Correcting error in indes $130 for file 581

Sorting index $130 in file 581

Deleting index entry win logo black.png index $130 of file 19823

                                 locks c-1 in index of file 149761

                                 windowed.png in index of file 192621

                                 win logo black.png in index of file 192959

                                 AppIdPolicyEngineAPi.d77 in index $130 file 225887

                                 AppI.DLL                                 index $130 of file 225887

                                 win.logo_black.png                 index $130 of file 284352

                                                                                 index £130 of file 305380

Does this help in any way ?

regards

winston               



#15 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 12:41 PM



 
 
Hi,
 
It looks like a check disk (chkdsk) function. May be with Acer computer.
 
Try to run the CHKDSK from the Safe mode with Command prompt.
 
 
I suggest that you use the /r swithch
 
CHKDSK /R AT THE PROMPT.  (There is a space before the /r)
 
 
If successful reboot in Normal mode and see what happens.
 
p.s.
In safe mode do have other options you can try?
 
 
 

nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760

#16 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 01:08 PM

Hi nasdaq,

I've just read your post. Since my last I've been between telephoning Acer and Microsoft (I was on the phone for 90 minutes for one Microsoft call)

Eventually they took control of this laptop and downloaded a Windows 7 to download to the USB and try booting via the USB with that. #

Just tried and the same problem.

I will now go and try your suggestion.

regards 

 

winston 



#17 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 03 January 2018 - 01:41 PM

hi nasdaq

 

Tried sfae mode with command prompt and the drivers started to load until as before they reach mfewfpk.sys where it sticks for a few minutes.

it then continues to disk.sys where it sticks for about a minute.

Then "Set up is starting services"

Then a window appears after a few minutes:

Install Windows

Windows cannot complete the installation in safe mode. To continue installing Windows re start the computer              OK

 

Then we get " Set up will continue after starting your computer"

Starting Windows

Set up is starting services

Then another window opens:

The computer restarted unexpectedly or encountered an unexpected error.Windows installation cannot proceed. To install Windows click OK to restart computer and then restart the installation.

Then we get "Setup will continue after restarting your computer"

Starting Windows and we go through the same loop again.

It just will not let me near any sort of command prompt and keeps going into this loop.

regards,

winston



#18 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 04 January 2018 - 06:18 AM

Hi,

 

You last chance to get this computer running is the Acer Recovery Media.

 

It's a bootable CD or Flash drive. etc...

 

If that fails then there is nothing else I can think of or do. Sorry.


nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760

#19 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 04 January 2018 - 07:51 AM

Hi nasdaq,

I'd contacted Acer directly this morning and they offered a repair option but that was for the UK and at present I am in France and the service team are not aware if the French team offer the same service.

The Microsoft technician was going to phone me back last night to see how I got on but didn't, so one last roll of the dice after trying to contact them via e mail and live chat I phoned one last time.

I luckily got a guy who checked the USB stick and he told me they had not downloaded a bootable version, which is why it wouldn't work. He took control of my working computer and downloaded a bootable version of Windows 7 which he then loaded onto the USB. Hey presto after a lot of trial and error we have Windows 7 on the faulty computer and the original hard drive is showing with around 29 MB of free space. he has already phoned me back once during the installation and is going to do so again after his next call to do a tidy up operation.

I'll let you know the final result and if he can throw any light as to what has happened.

regards

winston


Edited by winston66, 04 January 2018 - 07:51 AM.


#20 winston66

winston66

    Advanced Member

  • Full Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 221 posts

Posted 04 January 2018 - 01:27 PM

hi nasdaq,

 

Well Windows 7 is up and running and the technician (he's in Bangalore and has phoned me about 6 times to update) has got Windows 10 ready to run but he needs a different product key. He is phoning tomorrow afternoon (they are 4 hours ahead) to finish the procedure. All the files are still there and we have already freed up some space to accept Windows 10 by transferring some of them to my external drive. I don't really understand this Windows 7 download change but I believe he meant that the version downloaded yesterday, didn't have all the files on it so Acer didn't recognise it. He also said that computers with Windows 10 upgrades which had 7 or 8.1 originally on then would only boot from a USB with these two software programs and would not recognise Windows 10 directly from a USB.

So I believe we are okay now and thank you for taking the time to help me and I wish you a Happy and Healthy 2018.

Kind regards,

winston



#21 nasdaq

nasdaq

    Forum Deity

  • Global Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,212 posts

Posted 05 January 2018 - 06:48 AM

Glad to see that you are up and running.

 

nasdaq


nasdaq

Favorite tools: [ SpywareBlaster ] [ Spybot ] [ AdAware ] [ HijackThis ]
[ Housecall online virus scan ] [ Bitdefender online virus scan ]
[ AVG antivirus ] [ Sunbelt Personal Firewall ] [ ZoneAlarm firewall ]

My help is free, but if we have helped you in anyway,please considerDonating ,
see this topic for details.
We need members like you.

========
Shouldn't water be worth more than diamonds?
Adam Smith Glasgow, 1760




Member of ASAP and UNITE
Support SpywareInfo Forum - click the button