Norton Anti-Virus

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ckirby

ckirby

• Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 October 2004 - 01:45 PM

I posted this under SOFTWARE, but saw this topic and realized that it would be better suited here.

I have the 2002 version of Norton Anti-Virus installed on my computer and I have a yearly subscription. My subscription runs out at the end of the month and I don't know if I should just renew it or if I need to purchase a newer version. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Guest_Joey1_*

Guest_Joey1_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 October 2004 - 02:06 PM

Most people here don't like norton very much. :p If i had to choose between renewing and buying the new version, I would buy the new version; Unless I had the choice of just dumping Norton altogether and replacing it with a free one :cool: :

AVG is good, and it's free. Posted Image Virtually everyone here uses it, unless they're using non-free antiviruses
Link here.

Other free anti-viruses are AVPE and Avast! home.
With avast, you have to reregister every year, but it's still free! Posted Image

AVG is best for beginners, Avast! is more advanced. AVPE is ok, its only downside is that you can't quarantine.

More info. on Avast! here.

Edited by anti-spyware freak, 01 October 2004 - 02:07 PM.

#3 ckirby

ckirby

• Pip
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 October 2004 - 02:11 PM

i can absolutely dump it all together....i just want to be sure that I'm getting a good program. so, what is better....AVG or Avast!?

#4 Trilobite

Trilobite

Malware Hunter

• Trusted Advisor
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 711 posts

Posted 01 October 2004 - 03:50 PM