Photo

Virus on machine, how to download AV tool?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 auctionhugh

auctionhugh

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 24 November 2004 - 07:28 AM

So my day job is a systems analyst for a small ($30m sales) corporation. One of the VPs brought in his kid's computer and asked me to clean it up. Looking in MSConfig it is pretty obvious that there are viruses on it that are active, and it shows the signs as well (runs very slowly).

There is an old version of NAV 2002 on there with signatures out of date by about 6 months.

Since I am relatively sure it is infected with one or more viruses, I won't hook it up to the network to do an online virus scan or download and install a free virus scan.

I could install a newer version of Norton since we have several licenses sitting around here, (We are NAV enterprise level here with 100 licenses) but this would surely have very outdated virus signatures. Plus I prefer to give him a free program that would not be our company's responsibility.

I have a large USB key that can hold up to 512 megs of programs, etc, but I'm not aware of an easy way to get a virus program AND the newest signatures onto it to install (such as Grisoft AVG).

Any suggestions on the best way to do a virus scan on a computer not hooked up to the internet?

#2 auctionhugh

auctionhugh

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 29 November 2004 - 10:28 AM

Bump! Help me please?

#3 Mr Bob

Mr Bob

• Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 29 November 2004 - 02:38 PM

I'm not an expert at all, but why don't you install NAV via a cd (not network) then uninstall it once the viruses are gone.

Then install a few freebies for him...

#4 auctionhugh

auctionhugh

• Pip
  • 13 posts

Posted 29 November 2004 - 03:03 PM

Good thought, but all the CDs have way outdated virus definitions on them. Though this would definitely be better than nothing!