Spyware via children websites

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Bournemouth123

Bournemouth123

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 August 2005 - 12:54 AM

I have a scheduled daily scan by Spy Sweeper. Normally, the scan indicates I am clean (I mean my machine is clean!).

However.......whenever the kids have been using the machine, Spy Sweeper ALWAYS finds something to warn me about ... and my kids are young, don't go browsing around, and stick to a few favourite sites such as CBBC, Bratz, Funky Friends, Barbie, Polly Pocket, etc (guess the gender of the kids).

Is it normal for kids' sites to be used like this to get spyware onto machines? In the experience of others, is this stuff likely to be 'harmless'? - at the moment I just tell Spy Sweeper to delete everything it finds after the kids have finished.

:rant: I'm not very technical about spyware, browser hijacking, etc - being a VMS fan, I am just astonished at how easy it seems to be for someone outside to install malware that can actually bring a machine down, or make such incredible changes to the operating system!

#2 shellsworld

shellsworld

Humble Malware Fighter

• Helper Trainee
  • Pip
  • 28 posts

Posted 16 August 2005 - 02:41 PM

With Windows XP we created a limited user account for the grandkids and made sure the browser was set to tightest security. They were told if they couldn't access a particular site they weren't allowed to go there. There are plenty other children's sites for them to surf. Before we did that, my 12 y/o granddaughter managed to bring in a few goodies I had to clean up.
Now if only I could train her father to stay away from those "other" sites. :hmmm: LOL

I have a scheduled daily scan by Spy Sweeper. Normally, the scan indicates I am clean (I mean my machine is clean!).