What software to use to read exe files?

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 tuckan

tuckan

• Pip
  • 25 posts

Posted 07 September 2005 - 11:13 AM

I was courious what software do you use to read EXE files? What I am looking for is when these garbage ware programs install these files, I would like to be able to read what they are doing (if that is poss). I am not a programer, more a network admin person. I realize there will be a lot of information I would not understand at first, but will learn it. I would like to get a better understanding of what these files are doing. Especially when something new comes out. Maybe this isn't possible but I thought I would ask and see.

Right now I have a computer with a file that keeps re-writing itself and I would like to see if I could pull any information about it. I posted a tread in the malware removal and waiting to see if anybody has heard of this before.

#2 Tuxedo Jack

Tuxedo Jack

Creator of TuxPE, a Cat5-o'-9-Tails, Etherkillers, and more

• Expert
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,758 posts

Posted 07 September 2005 - 01:45 PM

If you don't have unpackers and hex editors, I highly recommend the greatest editing tool ever created on any platform. It edits code, writes pages, creates documents, and on top of all that, it's freeware.

What is it, you ask?

NOTEPAD!
Signature file is under revision. This will be back shortly.

#3 Swandog46

Swandog46

Forum Deity

• Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,190 posts

Posted 07 September 2005 - 02:08 PM

I like Filealyzer, by the Spybot-S&D team:
http://www.safer-net...rg/en/download/

#4 nl255

nl255

• Pip
  • 54 posts

Posted 07 September 2005 - 02:29 PM