• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 leoff.rus

leoff.rus

• Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 September 2005 - 12:39 PM

Yes I have read the FAQ.

I have some general questions about the most recent incarnation of the Web-Nexus "winsync" adware suite. Of course I
expect Spybot or Ad-Aware to start handling this problem soon, but meanwhile I'd really like to learn a little more about
how this rat works. I wonder if somebody could fill me in, or point me to the right forum (I'm new to spywareinfo).

Note that a Google search on "winsync" generally finds material on previous versions (e.g. the file "datadx.dll" hasn't been
used for some time). The last version was probably released in July-August. The current version, with which I'm having
problems, was probably released in late August - early September and has (of course) some enhancements. Questions
follow:

(1) none of the four adware files I’ve identified (2 .exe, 2 .dll, all in WINNT\System32) are displayed by Windows (XP)
Explorer nor found by its “search” function (of course options are set to “view hidden files”, etc). I really don’t think settings
in <<<HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Current Version\Explorer\Advanced>>> are pertinent to this problem, because if I
create a perfectly innocuous file, say an empty “.txt” file, in an entirely unrelated folder, e.g. c:\junk\junk, and then re-name
this file to the same name as any of the virus files (e.g. lplgkd.exe - names are (semi)randomly generated), it instantly
disappears from the Windows display (but still exists, of course. DOS can still see it, and if I try to create a second one
Windows will say “file already exists”). This happens so quickly it’s difficult for me to believe that an executing program is
continually scanning the file system and setting some file-specific flag; also, if I kill the executing virus processes (as in
next question) display of the filename is recovered. I wonder if anyone knows what mechanism(s) are used to accomplish