5 replies to this topic

#1 Gary_V

Gary_V

a.k.a. FastLearner

• Retired Staff
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,061 posts

Posted 29 March 2007 - 12:11 PM

Hello. I was wondering if anyone has come accross a good reference as to how to quickly block access to the following Messenger programs:

MSN Messenger
any other Messenging Client

What ports do they use? Which protocols and which IP addresses (or networks) do they use would be a great place to start... Perhaps there is a site out there that lists all of this in one place?

I am a network administrator and the client programs for some of the above have become very smart and are probing open ports and using them, such as ports 53, 21, and 25, etc. Another problem I'm having is that the online login sites, such as login.icq dot com uses Dynamic DNS that changes its address (and subnet!) every minute or so. How can I block these programs so that my users can't even use them? I don't even want them to be able to ping icq.com :) In the case of ICQ, I am positive they are using port 443 (HTTPS) but my firewall WatchGuard Firebox X5000 doesn't seem to support the third layer (i.e. blocking a domain name). I can only block the IP addresses, but like I said icq, fo one, uses hundreds of different ones in all kinds of ranges. Does anyone have any experience with such a thing or can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks. :thumbsup:
To err is human--and to blame it on a computer is even more so.

-Robert Orben

A must read: How I got Infected in the First Place

Online Virus and Trojan Scanners
Panda Software . . . Trend Micro . . . Bitdefender . . . Sygate Trojan Scan . . . Trojan Scan

Tools for Fighting Spyware
Spybot S & D . . . Ad-aware . . . CWShredder . . . HijackThis . . . PeperFix

Tools for Prevention
SpywareBlaster . . . SpywareGuard . . . IE-Spyad . . . avast! Free Anti-Virus . . . AVG Free Anti-Virus
Zone Alarm Free Firewall . . . Kerio Personal Firewall

Help support SWI! Click here to learn how.